Australian Motocross Championship List MX2

Australian Motocross Championship List MX2

AMXhistory Facebook Page
AMXhistory You Tube Channel
AMXhistory Vimeo Library,
featuring all videos on this site

Australian Motocross Championship List MX2 Class

2023 Wilson Todd - ProMX MX2 leader after 2 rounds
2021 AMX Championship - MX1 Round 1 Victoria - MX2 Overall winner Kyle Webster
2017 Luke Mastin - Australian Champion - Moto Snaps media

Photos: [Left]  2023 Australian MX 2 Motocross Champion Wilson Todd  (QLD, Honda); [Top right]  2021 Champion Kyle Webster (WA, Honda) – By ProMX Photographer Karl Phillipson/Optikal; and [Bottom right] 2017 Champion Luke Mastin  (NSW, KTM) – Moto Snaps media.

The most successful MX2 racers in the history of the Australian Motocross Championships

2001 to 2023

Back in 2011, Dirt Bike Action magazine ran a feature story titled Home-grown heroes. 

It took a look at the history of Australian Motocross and published a list of the most successful racers in the history of the Australian Championships.

The system
The following points system was used to generate the Top 10 list for the MX1 class.  

The top three overall results in each class for each year of each championship were counted – allocating:

  • three points for the win
  • two for second and
  • one for third.

The Australian motocross classes were completely revamped at the turn of the century when the breakthrough lightweight 4-stroke machines started dominating the sport.

Australia introduced the MX2 Class in 2002 – for two-stroke engines up to 125cc and four-stroke motors up to 250cc – with the new powerful four-stroke technology and environmentally-friendlier engines driving the change.

The Federation International Motorcycles (FIM) switched over to the new MX1, MX2 and MX3 classes for the 2004 World Motocross Championship season.

Thanks to your support, we now have a complete list of all Australian Motocross Champions and have updated the Most Successful Racer’s List from the very first Australian Championship in 1953 up to today


Although all winners and place-getters are known for the MX2 class, there are still some holes in the minor results for some classes.   

So these other results are based on the information we have to date.  

If you can fill in any gaps in the placings, email now and we’ll adjust the scores. 

Click above to contribute results or content to the Australian Motocross History website, or email:

Australian Motocross History Logo - Low resolution

To receive FREE Australian Motocross Championship list updates, eNews and new video releases, plus this poster of the MX1 Australian Motocross Champions.

AMXH Australian Motocross Champions List - Poster - MX2 Class Updated 2023
Subscribe Australian Motocross History Website News

Top 10
Most successful MX2 racers

Queenslander Wilson Todd  – 2018-19  and 2022-23 Australian MX2 Champion (By Peter Kitchingman)

Wilson Todd (QLD)
14 points

Equal 2nd
Cameron Taylor (VIC)
Troy Dorron (VIC)
7 points

Matt Moss (NSW)
6 points

Equal 5th
Luke Clout (NSW)
Luke Styke (NSW)
Ryan Marmont (NSW)
Kyle Webster (WA)
5 points

Equal 9th
Ford Dale (QLD) 4
Hamish Harwood (NZ) 4
Jay Wilson (NSW) 4
Kirk Gibbs (SA) 4
Luke George (NSW)
4 points

2003 Australian MX2 Champion Troy Carroll - By Peter Coward

Victorian Troy Carroll – 2003 Australian MX2 Champion (By Peter Coward)

2013 East Coast Series - Round 1 Canberra - No 6 Luke Styke (By Jason Rankmore)

2013 Australian MX2 Champion Luke Styke (NSW, Yamaha) (By Jason Rankmore)

2017 Luke Mastin - Australian Champion - Moto Snaps media

New South Wales  KTM rider Luke Mastin – 2017 Australian MX2 Champion (By Moto Snaps media)

Riders to win the most MX2 Championships

Wilson Todd (QLD) 4 wins
Matt Moss (NSW) 2 wins

Riders to win successive MX2 Championships

Wilson Todd (QLD) 2 – 2018 to 2019
Wilson Todd (QLD) 2 – 2022 to 2023

Manufacturer's MX2 Championships

Yamaha,  8 wins
Honda, 7
K.T.M, 4
Husqvarna, 1
Kawasaki, 1
Suzuki, 1

Australian MX2
Motocross Champions

Troy Dorron - The inaugural Australian MX2 Champion in 2002

Troy Dorron (Victoria) – The inaugural Australian MX2 Champion in 2002 (By Peter Kitchingman)

2002 Troy Dorron (VIC, Honda)
2003 Troy Carroll (VIC, Yamaha)
2004 Cody Cooper (NZ, Honda)
2005 Cameron Taylor (VIC, Yamaha)
2006 Ryan Marmont (NSW, K.T.M.)
2007 Jake Moss (NSW, Yamaha)
2008 Luke George (NSW, Kawasaki)
2009 Matt Moss (NSW, Suzuki)
2010 PJ. Larsen (US, K.T.M.)
2011 Matt Moss (NSW, K.T.M.)

2012 Ford Dale (QLD, Honda)
2013 Luke Styke (NSW, Yamaha)
2014 Luke Clout (NSW, Yamaha)
2015 Jay Wilson (NSW, Yamaha)
2016 Jed Beaton (TAS, Yamaha)
2017 Egan Mastin (NSW, K.T.M.)
2018 Wilson Todd (QLD, Yamaha)
2019 Wilson Todd (QLD, Husqvarna)
2020 Not held
2021 Kyle Webster (WA, Honda)
2022 Wilson Todd (QLD, Honda)
2023 Wilson Todd (QLD, Honda)

The most successful MX2 racers (by State)

Matt Moss 2013-14 Australian MX1 Champion - By Jason Rankmore

Matt Moss was the Top MX2 racer from New South Wales, winning back-to-back Championships on a Suzuki in 2013-14  (By Jason Rankmore)

1. Wilson Todd, 14
2. Ford Dale, 4
3. Rhys Budd, 3

1. Cameron Taylor,
    Troy Dorron, 7
3. Troy Carroll, 3

1. Matt Moss, 6
2. Luke Clout, 5
3. Luke Styke,
     Ryan Marmont, 5

1. Kirk Gibbs, 4
2. Luke Arbon, 1

1. Kyle Webster, 5

1. Jed Beaton, 3

1. Hamish Harwood, 4
2. Cody Cooper, 3
3. Luke Burkhart, 1

Australian MX2

Monster Energy – 2012 Round 8 – MX2 (Pro Lites) Australian Championship 

Mulishavideo – Luke Styke 2013 MX2 Australian Champion

AMX Stores – Kyle Webster, 2021 Australian MX2 Champion Highlights

MX2 Timeline


Victorian Troy Dorron wins the inaugural MX2 Australian Motocross Championship aboard a Honda.


Troy Carroll (Victoria) wins his first Australian MX2 Motocross Championship and the first of many to come for Yamaha in this class.


New Zealand Honda rider Cody Cooper becomes the first International rider to win the Australian MX2 Motocross Championship.


KTM rider Ryan Marmont (NSW) wins his first Australian  MX2 Motocross Championship and the first for KTM.


New South Wales rider Luke George wins  his and Kawasaki’s first and only Australian MX2 Championship.


New South Wales rider Matt Moss wins his first Australian MX2 Championship, and Suzuki’s first and only title in this class.


Matt Moss (NSW) becomes the first rider to win two Australian MX2 Motocross Championships, but this time aboard a KTM.


2007 Runner-up Australian MX2 Motocross Champion Mitch Hoad  sadly died unexpectedly in his sleep, a week shy of his 32nd birthday.


Queenslander Wilson Todd  wins Husqvarna’s first Australian MX2 Championship and becomes the first rider  to win back-to-back titles , winning his 2018 title on a Yamaha.


The entire 2020 Australian Motocross Championship series is not held due to the world-wide COVID-19 pandemic.


Penrite becomes the major sponsor of the  2021 Australian Motocross Championship series and takes the professionalism and publicity to an all-time high level in Australia.


Queenslander Wilson Todd  wins a record third Australian MX2 Championship, but this time he is aboard a Honda.


Wilson Todd  wins a record fourth Australian MX2 Championship and his second back-to-back title in his class, having also won this class in 2018, 2019 and 2023.

Other Australian Champions (by class)

Click on the photos below to view the Australian Champions list for all classes

Stay connected through social media

Mr Motocross
Legends and Stars

Mr Motocross Legends and Stars

Old Stars WA
Motocross Group

Old Stars WA Motocross Group

WA Motocross

Western Australian Motocross Memories

Legends of

Legends of Sidecarcross

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Australian Motocross History