Australian Motocross Championships Ballarat 1990

Australian Motocross Championships Ballarat 1990

AMXhistory Facebook Page
AMXhistory You Tube Channel
AMXhistory Vimeo Library,
featuring all videos on this site

Australian Motocross Championships Ballarat

1-2 September 1990, Monza Park, Ballarat - VICTORIA
1990 Australian Motocross Championships Glen Bell leads Stephen Andrew in 125cc Class
1990 Australian 250cc Champion Craig Dack riding for Peter Jackson Yamaha Team in 1991
Gleb Bell's win in the 1990 Australian 500cc Championship secured him the final spot in the Australian MXdN team

Photos: [Left] Team Yamaha Marlborough riders, Craig Dack & Stephen Andrew dicing for the lead in the Australian 250cc Championship; [centre] Dack won the 250cc title – the first Championship for his team in this class; and [right] Glen BeIl’s first 500cc win aboard a Honda, secured the final spot in the MXdN team.

Bell and Dack create history in Ballarat

New South Wales rider Glen Bell won the prestigious 500cc Australian Championship in treacherous conditions at Monza Park, Ballarat (Victoria) on Sunday 2 September 1990 – his first career win in this class.

The Team Honda rider put the disappointment of a seized engine in Saturday’s 125cc Championship behind him, to clinch his sixth Australian Championship, having already notched up five National 125cc titles.

The win also elevated Bell ahead of Victorian rider Stephen Andrew for the 125cc position in the Australian Team for the coming Motocross of Nations in Vimmerby, Sweden on 16 September, joining Craig Dack (250) and Jeff Leisk (500).

The weekend provided several historic moments. In addition to Bell’s breakthrough win in the 500s, Craig Dack (NSW) secured Team Marlborough Yamaha’s first National title in the 250cc class, and Stephen Andrew clinched his first title in the 125s.  Victorians Brian Anthony and Mark Weir also won the sidecar double, clinching their first Australian Championship.

It was also the final Australian Motocross Championship to be held on the one weekend for all classes, with the 125/250, 500 and Sidecar classes split the following year, with the first National series introduced in 1992.

Andrew, from Geelong, blitzed the field in the 125cc class in dry conditions on the Saturday with three wins from three starts on his Yamaha to win ahead of Andrew Haydon (KTM, VIC) and Eddie Warren (Kawasaki, USA).

Andrew backed up his 125cc title with a solid second behind Craig Dack in the 250s, which became a battle for survival once the rain came. As normal, Ballarat had four seasons in the space of two hours and heavy rain soaked the track.

Dack, the three-times Australian Champion while riding for Honda, did it tough at Ballarat this time for the Yamaha Marlborough Team after removing his muddy goggles, then losing his front fender which broke off due to the weight of the mud.

After cleaning his eyes in time for the second moto, Dack clinched his fourth National title. Andrew was second (losing his fender in the second moto) ahead of Lynden Heffernan (NSW, Yamaha).

The 500cc Championship was a classic Bell vs Dack duel with the “Dack Attack” on an Ohlins 360 kitted YZ250 and “Belly” on the potent CR500.

The track was now a quagmire and both riders got their bikes stuck in ruts at different parts of the track at the same time in the second moto, with “Belly” recovering first to win ahead of Dack and Eddie Warren (US, Kawasaki).

Warren did well to place in both the 125 and 500cc classes, riding with a sprained wrist sustained at the Sydney Triple-M Motocross Masters Grand Final. Due this injury, he elected not to compete in the 250cc class.

Click above to contribute results or content to the Australian Motocross History website, or email:

Australian Motocross History Logo - Low resolution

To receive FREE Australian Motocross Championship list updates, eNews and new video releases.

Subscribe Australian Motocross History Website News

Anthony - Weir win the Sidecar Double

Victorian sidecar team Trevor Anthony and Mark Weir made it a clean sweep in the sidecars, winning their first titles in both the Junior and Unlimited Sidecar Championships.

South Australians John Robinson – Simon Chapman were second and third, respectively, in both sidecar classes on their lightweight Honda VMC outfit. Steven Fox – Troy Grabham (VIC) were second in the Unlimited class and Nigel Evans – Peter Kurtze (SA, Honda VMC) third in the Juniors, for machines up to 500cc.

Honda’s Anthony Gobert dominated the Restricted License Holder (Junior) class races, taking three wins from three starts ahead of Paul Grant (Suzuki) and Ian Cunningham (Honda).

Gobert, from Greenacre in New South Wales, would go onto to forge a professional road racing career. He was a rider of immense promise and talent and in 1994 became the youngest ever World Superbike race winner in the final round of the season at Philip Island.

1990 Australian Sidecar Champions - Trevor Anthony and Mark Weir receiving the Duke of Edinburgh Award

1990 Australian Junior and Unlimited sidecar champions Trevor Anthony and Mark Weir (VIC) at the presentation ceremony.

1990 Australian Motocross Championship Results


1 Stephen Andrew (VIC, Yamaha)
2 Andrew Haydon (VIC, KTM)
3 Eddie Warren (USA, Kawasaki)


1 Craig Dack (NSW, Yamaha)
2 Stephen Andrew (VIC, Yamaha)
3 Lyndon Heffernan (NSW, Yamaha)


1 Glen Bell (NSW, Yamaha)
2 Craig Dack (NSW, Yamaha)
3 Eddie Warren (USA, Kawasaki)

RLH (Juniors)

1 Anthony Gobert (Honda)
2 Paul Grant (Suzuki)
3 Ian Cunningham (Honda)

Junior Sidecars

1 Trevor Anthony – Mark Weir (VIC)
2 John Robinson – Simon Chapman (SA)
3 Nigel Evans – Peter Kurtze (SA)

Unlimited Sidecars

1 Trevor Anthony – Mark Weir (VIC)
2 Steven Fox – Troy Grabham (VIC)
3 John Robinson-Simon Chapman (SA)

Stay connected through social media

Mr Motocross
Legends and Stars

Mr Motocross Legends and Stars

Australian Motocross History

AMXHistory - Facebook Homepage

Old Stars WA
Motocross Group

Old Stars WA Motocross Group

Australian Sidecarcross Association

AMX Social Media Group - Australian Sidecarcross Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Australian Motocross History