Australian Motocross Championships Smithton 1987

Australian Motocross Championships Smithton 1987

AMXhistory Facebook Page
AMXhistory You Tube Channel
AMXhistory Vimeo Library,
featuring all videos on this site

Australian Motocross Championships Smithton

24-25 october 1987, smithton - tasmania (circular head MCC)
1987 Australian 250 and 500cc Motocross Champion Craig Dack
1987 Cliff Cook-John Steyntjes lead Bernard Mueller-Robert Duke and eventual Unlimited Australian Sidecar winners Bill Williams-Bruce Lindsell at Smithon, Tasmania
1987 AMX CS Program Cover Smithton TAS

Photos: [Left] The “Dack Attack”, Craig Dack (NSW)  won both the 250-500cc double at the 1987 Australian Championships in Smithton; [Centre] Cliff Cook-John Steyntjes (WA) lead Bernard Mueller-Robert Duke (VIC) and eventual Unlimited Australian Sidecar winners Bill Williams-Bruce Linsdell (VIC) in Moto 1 (Photo by Carol Williams).

Australia's top motocross riders subject to a "Dack Attack" in Tasmania

On 24-25 October 1987, New South Wales rider Craig Dack won the 250-500cc double at the Australian Motocross Championships in Smithton, Tasmania.

The “Dack Attack”, as he was commonly known, beat the cream of Australian motocross riders in ideal weather conditions in front of more than 2,000 spectators at the Briant Park Circuit, which was located in a forest on the north-west tip of Tasmania.

1987 was Dack’s year!  Riding a Brian Collins Motorcycles Honda – he successfully retained his 500cc crown after winning his second Mr Motocross title weeks earlier.

That year he took out every major National event, including the Manjimup 15,000 (WA), the King of the Cross (Southern Cross, WA) and Mountain Man Classic (Toowoomba QLD).

The fast sweeping open Briant Park circuit produced spectacular racing in all classes and really suited Dack, who – at the 15 minute mark of the second 500cc leg – was 23 seconds ahead of his nearest rival.

Dack convincingly won both 500cc motos on the Sunday, which went for 30-minutes plus one lap, winning the Championship ahead of Dean Burt (VIC, Kawasaki) and Nigel Bolton (VIC, Honda).

He was put under more pressure, however in the 250cc class by Marlborough Yamaha Dealer Team riders Glen Bell (NSW) and James Deakin (QLD), who finished second and third, respectively, behind him.

Glen Bell retained his National crown in the 125cc Championship held on the Saturday, with Bell and Deakin both premiering the brand new 1988 YZ model Yamahas.

Bell secured his fourth National 125cc title at Smithton, which was dominated by Yamaha riders.

Mark Kirkman (NSW, Yamaha) finished in second ahead of Dale Britton (WA, Yamaha) in third.

Britton had just returned from the United States – where he joined his idol and mentor Jeff Leisk – spending three months in a vigorous training program and racing in the Californian Golden Gate Series.

A young Lee Hogan finished  third in the Junior Class – Restricted License Holders 14-16 years of age – riding a 125cc Kawasaki behind the winner Rodney Hamilton (VIC, Honda) and Steven Maguire (VIC, Kawasaki) in second.

Click above to contribute results or content to the Australian Motocross History website, or email:

Australian Motocross History Logo - Low resolution

To receive FREE Australian Motocross Championship list updates, eNews and new video releases.

Subscribe Australian Motocross History Website News

Williams-Linsdell win the Australian Unlimited Sidecar title after working to midnight

View video (20Mins) 500cc and 1000cc Sidecar races at the 1987 Australian Motocross Championships at Smithton in Tasmania.

The old video footage taken by a member of the Korumburra Motorcycle Club was restored by converting the film to a digital format, then editing it to capture the highlights from the 500cc and 1000cc sidecar races and adding commentary, plus the race results.

The fast, winding circuit suited the sidecars and Victorian team Brian Stewart – Kim Demarte (Kawasaki) won their fourth National title when they narrowly took out the 500cc class on the Saturday.

Stewart-Demarte, who announced their retirement from the sport at the Briant Park presentation ceremony on the Sunday, finished second in the first leg behind Cliff Cook – John Steyntjes (WA, Honda VMC), but won the second with the West Australians finishing third to finish second overall ahead of Darren Robertson – Darryl Elliott (VIC, Kawasaki).

Robertson and Cook reversed placings in the 1000cc Sidecar class, which was convincingly won by Victorian team Bill Williams – Bruce Linsdell on a Honda EML.

Williams-Linsdell lead the first Junior Sidecar moto on the Saturday, but suffered mechanical failure, working through to midnight to repair their Honda EML for the Sunday event.

Three-times Australian Sidecar Champion Darren Williams swung for Victorian rider Walter Preisig at Smithton, after swinging for Bernard Mueller that year in Europe.

Around that time, a host of other Aussies also raced Sidecarcross in Europe – including Swiss expatriate Preisig, Mick Wimmer (WA), Cook-Steyntjes (WA), passenger Vaughn Fletcher (QLD) and John Robinson (SA).

Photo: [Left] Bill Williams-Bruce Linsdell  (VIC, Honda EML) lead Moto 1 in the Junior Sidecar race, before mechanical failure rubbed them out; [Centre] Cliff Cook-John Steyntjes (WA, Honda EML) went on to win Moto 1 (Photo: Carol Williams); [Right] Unlimited Sidecar ceremony – Williams-Linsdell (first), Darren Robertson-Darryl Elliott (VIC, second) and Cliff Cook (obscured)-John Steyntjes (third).

1987 Australian Motocross Championship Results


1. Glen Bell (NSW, Yamaha)
2. Mark Kirkman (NSW, Yamaha)
3. Dale Britton (WA, Yamaha)


1. Craig Dack (NSW, Honda)
2. Glen Bell (NSW, Yamaha)
3. James Deakin (QLD, Yamaha)


1. Craig Dack (NSW, Honda)
2. Dean Burt (VIC, Kawasaki)
3. Nigel Bolton (VIC, Honda)

Restricted Licenses (14-16 years)

1. Rodney Hamilton (VIC, Honda)
2. Steven Maguire (VIC, Kawasaki)
3. Lee Hogan (VIC, Kawasaki)

Junior Sidecars

1. Brian Stewart – Kim Demarte (VIC, Kawasaki)
2. Cliff Cook – John Steyntjes (WA, Honda VMC)
3. Darren Robertson – Darryl Elliott (VIC, Kawasaki)

Unlimited Sidecars

1. Bill Williams – Bruce Lindsell (VIC – Honda EML)
2. Darren Robertson – Darryl Elliott (VIC, Kawasaki)
3. Cliff Cook – John Steyntjes (WA, Honda VMC)

Stay connected through social media

Mr Motocross
Legends and Stars

Mr Motocross Legends and Stars

Australian Motocross History

AMXHistory - Facebook Homepage

Old Stars WA
Motocross Group

Old Stars WA Motocross Group

Australian Sidecarcross Association

AMX Social Media Group - Australian Sidecarcross Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Australian Motocross History