Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame Motocross Champions

Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame Motocross Champions

Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame Motocross Champions

Stephen Gall and Jeff Leisk inducted into Hall of Fame on 19 March 2016
Ray Fisher - Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame Inductee 2019 with Tim Gibbes

Photos: [Left] Australian motocross legends Jeff Leisk (WA) and Stephen Gall  – the first motocross riders inducted into the Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame; and [Right] Victorian Ray Fisher, with another future worthy inductee Tim Gibbes at the 2019 presentation ceremony.

Motocross Champions


2016 to 2024

With Australian Motocross Legend Craig Dack announced in 2024 as the latest motocross inductee into the Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame, AMX history takes a look at this prestigious award and other recipients.

The Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame was established in 2016 by the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport to recognize those who have brought greatness to motor sport in all its many disciplines, over the entire history of the sport in Australia.

Since March 2016, there have been 81 inductees from these motorcycle sports – Motorcycle road racing (14); Touring cars, Rallying and Sports cars (8 each); Speedway bikes (7); Motocross and Speedway cars (6) and more. 

Three legends have also been announced, two from Formula One racing: 

  • Australia’s first World Formula One Champion Sir Jack Brabham (AO OBE)
  • Formula One World Champion Alan Jones (MBE) Formula One, and
  • Five-times World Road Racing Motorbike Champion Mick Doohan.

The six motocross legends include Jeff Leisk (WA) and Stephen Gall (NSW), who were the first to be inducted in 2016). Since then, the other motocross riders including Victorians Ken Rumble (2017), Gary Flood (2018), Ray Fisher (2019) and Craig Dack (NSW, 2024). 

Gary Flood was also a successful international speedway racer.

Click above to contribute results or content to the Australian Motocross History website, or email:

Australian Motocross History Logo - Low resolution

To receive FREE Australian Motocross Championship list updates, eNews and new video releases.

Australian Motorsport Hall of Famers - Motocross
Subscribe Australian Motocross History Website News

Australian Motocross Hall of Famers

1988 Jeff Leisk Hollister US Grand Prix - with insert

2016 Jeff Leisk (WA)

  • Runner-up World 500cc Motocross Champion (1989), winner of three Grand Prix events
  • World Junior Motocross Championship (1979)
  • First Australian to win a moto in the professional United States AMA Motocross series (1987)
  • Two-times Mister Motocross winner
  • Eight-times Australian Motocross Champion and multiple State motocross titles
  • Represented Australia four times in World Motocross of Nations

2016 Stephen Gall (NSW)

  • Four-times Mister Motocross winner
  • Five-times Australian Motocross Champion
  • 30 State motocross titles
  • Chelsea International Supercross winner (London)
  • Inaugural Australian team representative and manager World Motocross of Nations
Stephen Gall - OW51 Factory power valved 500 Yamaha works bike that helped Gall win the 81’ Mr mX series
Australian Motocross Champion Ken Rumble

2017 Ken Rumble (VIC)

  • Seven-times Australian Motocross Champion
  • Inaugural Australian Motocross Champion
  • Won three National titles at the first Championships in 1953
  • Was also a champion road racer

2018 Garry Flood (VIC)

  • Mister Motocross winner
  • Seven-times Australian Motocross Champion
  • International motocross and speedway racer
  • Inaugural winner of the Mountain Man Motocross (Toowoomba, Queensland)
1974 Mr Motocross Gary Flood - Final round at Amaroo Park, with insert - By Peter Kitchingman
Ray Fisher at the 2019 Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame ceremony - Ray raced for 33 years, on 33 different bikes with his favored race number 33

2019 Ray Fisher (VIC)

  • Seven-times Australian Motocross Champion
  • 12 Victorian state titles and three Grand National motocross wins
  • International motocross pioneer
  • Winner Teterow Grasstrack Championship in East Germany

2024 Craig Dack (NSW)

  • Four-times Mister Motocross winner
  • Five-times Australian Motocross Champion
  • Supercross Masters and National Supercross Champion
  • Represented Australia seven times at World Motocross of Nations
1986 Dack wins first Mr Motocross title at Oran Park

Other legends worthy of consideration

Without question, all of the above riders are deserved Hall of Famers, but these other motocross legends should also be strongly considered:  

  • Chad Reed (NSW) – 2 times World FIM Supercross Champion, multiple AMA SX and MX Champion and multiple Australian MX and SX Champion
  • The late Andrew McFarlane (QLD) – Runner-up World Champion, Australian motocross and 2 time National Supercross Champion, most Grand Prix wins in World Championships
  • Kim Ashkenazi (NSW) – 6 times Australian Champion, Supercross Masters and National Supercoss Champion, first Australian to podium in an AMA SX overall series.
  • Anthony Gunter (NSW) – 3 times Australian Champion and 3 times Mr. Motocross winner
  • Glen Bell – (NSW) 8 times Australian Motocross Champion, Supercross Masters and National Supercross Champion
  • Craig Anderson (NSW) – 4 times Australian motocross, 3-times Supercross Masters and National Supercross Champion, member of winning Australian World Championship Team
  • The late Tim Gibbes (NSW) – First Australian to win the International Six Day Trial, then switched to motocross, international pioneer and first Australian to contest the World Motocross Championships, introduced international motocross to Australia, and more.
  • Charlie West (WA) – 6 times Australian Champion and international competitor for 4 years
  • Trevor Flood (VIC) – 5 times Australian and Mr. Motocross winner
  • George Bailey (VIC) – 5 times Australian Champion

Also, the young Queensland Lawrence Brothers, Jett and Hunter, would have to be included for their achievements already at international level, although surprisingly both Australian international sensations Chad Reed and Andrew McFarlane have been overlooked so far and they both also won multiple Australian motocross and supercross titles. 

The Hall of Fame is strongly supported by Motorcycling Australia and the Hall of Fame Committee comprises respected members of all disciplines within the sport plus experienced journalists with a strong knowledge of motor sport’s history and its participants.  Hopefully in the future these other motocross legends will be considered.

Australian Motorsport Hall of Famers - Other Motocross contenders
Future Motocross Australian Motorsport Hall of Famers

Number of Hall of Fame inductees by class

Mick Doohan World Motorcycle Champion and Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame Legend

Michael Doohan – World Motorcycle Champion and Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame Legend

Motorcycle road racing (14)
Touring car racing (10)
Rallying (8)
Sports car racing (8)
Speedway bikes (7)
Motorcycle motocross (6)
Speedway cars (6)
Drag racing (5)

Karting (4)
Open-wheel racing (4)
Formula One (4)
Off-road racing (2)
Motorsport administration (2)
Design and engineering (1)
Landspeed (1)

Complete Australian Champion Lists

Click on the link below to view the complete Australian Motocross list, or photos for each individual class

Stay connected through social media

Mr Motocross
Legends and Stars

Mr Motocross Legends and Stars

Australian Motocross History

AMXHistory - Facebook Homepage

Old Stars WA
Motocross Group

Old Stars WA Motocross Group

Australian Sidecarcross Association

AMX Social Media Group - Australian Sidecarcross Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Australian Motocross History