Daley equal winner at Mount Kembla International Motocross

Daley equal winner at Mount Kembla International Motocross

AMXhistory Facebook Page
AMXhistory You Tube Channel
AMXhistory Vimeo Library,
featuring all videos on this site

International Motocross, Mount Kembla

Matt Daley leads Welshman John Lewis during the 1967 International meeting
Gunnar Lindstrom Husqvarna - Winner of the inaugural International Motocross Series in Australia in 1967-68
1967 – John Lewis (Wales) competed in the 1967-68 International Motocross series down under

Photos: [Left] Young  Aussie Matt Daley (QLD/NSW,  Husqvarna) leads John Lewis (Wales, BSA) at the Mount Kembla International Motocross spectacular in 1967; [Top Right] Husqvarna Test Engineer Gunnar Lindstrom (Sweden), and [Bottom right] Lewis on  a burrowed BSA (By courtesy series organiser Tim Gibbes)

Daley equal winner at Mount Kembla International Motocross spectacular

On 2 December 1967, the late Matt Daley tied with Swedish rider Gunnar Lindstrom for the overall win at the Mount Kembla International Motocross spectacular.

The young Aussie took it up to the Internationals on his home circuit in Wollongong (NSW) on 2 December 1967, having moved there from Queensland a year earlier to further his racing career.

Despite the depth of talent, Daley won the first leg of the International Challenge on his new lightweight Husqvarna two-stroke ahead of Kiwi Morley Shirriffs (Tri-Met), fellow Aussie Ray Fisher (VIC, Metisse) and Husqvarna research engineer Lindstrom.

Lindstrom downed Daley in the second leg and Welshman John Lewis won the third on a borrowed 441 BSA, with Lindstrom (3-1-3) and Daley (1-2-2) tying for the overall win.

Other internationals competing in the 1967/68 series down under included Jimmy ‘JN’ Roberts (USA), Gordon Holland (NZ) and Australian Motocross Legend Tim Gibbes.

Gibbes, who was originally from New South Wales and later settled in New Zealand, arranged the annual International series down under in the mid-1960s after returning from racing in Europe and the United States.

The 1967/68 tour kicked off in Snake Gully near Adelaide (SA) on November 12, then moved to Christmas Hills on 26 November and Mount Kembla, before heading over to New Zealand.

Click above to contribute results or content to the Australian Motocross History website, or email:

Australian Motocross History Logo - Low resolution

To receive FREE Australian Motocross Championship list updates, eNews and new video releases.

Subscribe Australian Motocross History Website News

1967-68 Australia New Zealand International Motocross

Final Placings – Mount Kembla Round

1. Matt Daley (QLD/NSW Husqvarna) and
Gunnar Lindstrom (Sweden, Husqvarna)
3. John Lewis (Wales, BSA)

2011 Gunnar Lindstrom (Sweden) and Tim Gibbes reunite 44 years after the 1967-68 International Motocross Tour

Photo:  International Motocross series organiser Tim Gibbes  and Gunnar Lindstom reunite 44 years after the 1967/68 International  Motocross Tour

Stay connected through social media

Mr Motocross
Legends and Stars

Mr Motocross Legends and Stars

Australian Motocross History

AMXHistory - Facebook Homepage

Old Stars WA
Motocross Group

Old Stars WA Motocross Group

Australian Sidecarcross Association

AMX Social Media Group - Australian Sidecarcross Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Australian Motocross History