McFarlane wins his first Grand Prix

McFarlane wins his first Grand Prix

McFarlane wins first Grand Prix at Gallarate in Italy

2004 Andrew McFarlane - winner of the Italian MX2 Grand Prix at Gallarate on 13 June
Andrew McFarlane - Motocross - 2004 Grand Prix Italy
2004 Andrew McFarlane - Motocross 10 - Italian Grand Prix 6 June, with wife Natalie

Photos:  [Left] Queenslander Andrew McFarlane (Yamaha) on his way to winning the  2004 Italian MX2 Grand Prix at Gallarate; [centre] at the press conference after his victory with Italian Yamaha riders Claudio Federici  (left) and Alessio Chiodi (right);  and [right] Andrew celebrating with his wife Natalie.

McFarlane wins 2004 Italian MX2 GP

On Sunday 7 June 2004, in front of around 20,000 spectators, Australia’s Andrew McFarlane had his first Grand Prix victory. The Queensland rider went 1-1 in the MX2 class at the Grand Prix of Italy at Gallarate and became only the third Australian rider in Grand Prix history to win an overall World Championship round, with Chad Reed (QLD) and Jeff Leisk (WA) the only others to achieve this feat.

Finishing second and third, respectively to McFarlane in Italy were two crowd favourites Claudio Federici and Alessio Chiodi.  All three podium riders were Yamaha-mounted.

Riding for the Yamaha factory racing team run by 1984 world champion Michele Rinaldi, McFarlane won Moto 1 ahead of Federici and series leader Ben Townley, from New Zealand (KTM).

Townley had to settle for seventh in Moto 2 after crashing on the first corner. Much to the disappointment of the parochial local crowd, McFarlane held off the two Italian Yamaha riders Antonio Cairoli and Alessio Chiodi, who finished in second and third respectively.

After nine rounds, McFarlane was now in fourth overall in the World Championship on 260 points, behind leader Ben Townley NZ, KTM (352), Stephen Sword GB, Kawasaki (306) and Tyla Rattray ZA, KTM (291).  McFarlane missed four of the remaining five rounds through injuries and slipped down to seventh in the final championship points with Kiwi Townley being crowned the 2004 World MX2 Champion.

After finishing seventh in his first full season in the 2001 World 500cc Motocross Championships, McFarlane switched to the MX2 250cc class and over the next four years he consistently finished overall in the Top 10, becoming the Runner-up World Champion in 2005 after coming 8th in 2002, 6th in 2003 and 7th in 2004. 

In 2006, he moved to the United States to compete for the Yamaha of Troy motocross team in the AMA Motocross National Championship.

World MX2 Motocross Italian Grand Prix Results - Gallarate (13 June 2004)


1. Andrew McFarlane AUS, Yamaha (50)
2. Claudio Federici IT, Yamaha (36)
3. Alessio Chiodi IT, Yamaha (35)
4. Antonio Cairoli IT, Yamaha (34)
5. Ben Townley NZ, KTM (33)

Moto 1

1. Andrew McFarlane AUS, Yamaha
2. Claudio Federici IT, Yamaha
3. Ben Townley NZ, KTM
4. Stephen Sword GB, Kawasaki
5. Patrick Caps BE Yamaha

Moto 2

1. Andrew McFarlane AUS, Yamaha
2. Antonio Cairoli IT, Yamaha
3. Alessio Chiodi, IT Yamaha
4. Mickael Maschio FR Kawasaki
5. Sebastien Pourcel FR Kawasaki

Race 2 – MX2 Italian Grand Prix, Gallarate – MX Légende

MX2 World Championship (after 9 rounds)

1. Ben Townley NZ, KTM (352)
2. Stephen Sword GB, Kawasaki (306)
3. Tyla Rattray ZA, KTM (291)
4. Andrew McFarlane AUS, Yamaha (260)
5. Antonio Cairoli IT, Yamaha (221)

FINAL 2004 MX2 World Championship Points

1. Ben Townley NZ, KTM (622)
2. Tyla Rattray ZA, KTM (506)
3. Antonio Cairoli IT, Yamaha (447)
4. Stephen Sword GB, Kawasaki (397)
5. Alessio Chiodi, IT Yamaha (385)
7. Andrew McFarlane AUS, Yamaha (329)

Stay connected through social media

Mr Motocross
Legends and Stars

Mr Motocross Legends and Stars

Australian Motocross History

AMXHistory - Facebook Homepage

Old Stars WA
Motocross Group

Old Stars WA Motocross Group

Australian Sidecarcross Association

AMX Social Media Group - Australian Sidecarcross Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Australian Motocross History