Motocross Champion Marmont matches Gall record

Motocross Champion Marmont matches Gall record

AMXhistory Facebook Page
AMXhistory You Tube Channel
AMXhistory Vimeo Library,
featuring all videos on this site

Australian Motocross Champions Gall and Marmont

Four-times Australian Motocross Champions Stephen Gall and Jay Marmont

Photos: Australian Number 1 riders for four years in a row – Stephen Gall (250cc class 1980 to 1983) and Jay Marmont (MX1 class 2008 to 2011 )

Will anyone match Gall and Marmont’s Australian Motocross Championship record?

When the Australian Motocross Championships became a series in 1992, Stephen Gall’s incredible record of winning four National 250cc titles in a row between 1980 to 1983 looked like it would never be broken.

But amazingly, another New South Wales rider – Jay Marmont from Woolongong – matched this feat on 31 July 2011 at the final round of the Australian Motocross Championships in Coolum (Queensland) – in the MX1 class (previously Pro Open class).

Both riders achieved their feats aboard Yamahas, with Marmont’s success coming when he joined the Craig Dack Yamaha Team, after he returned from the United States where he competed between 2004 to 2006.

Dack himself was a five-times Australian Motocross Champion winning three 250cc and two 500cc titles between 1986 and 1991. Also, both Dack and Gall each won the prestigious Mr. Motocross (Mr. MX) Series four times – with the series being held between 1974 and 1990.

Although Stephen Gall won his first Mr. MX series in 1978, it wasn’t until the 1980 Australian Championships in Dargle (NSW) when he broke through to win his first National title – winning both the 250 and 500cc classes.

During that period the Australian Motocross Championships were run over one weekend with two 20 to 30 minutes motos for individual classes held on the one day.

Gall was almost unbeatable on a 250 between 1981 and 1983, winning this class over the next three years at Simmons Plains (TAS), Toowoomba (QLD) and Acusa Park (SA). But he really had to dig deep in 1982 at the Echo Valley circuit in 1982, as this was his first ride for several months after breaking his wrist in a racing accident.

Up-and-coming young gun Jeff Leisk from WA ended Gall’s domination of the sport in 1984 and 1985, winning the Mr. MX series these years and the National 250cc title in 1984. Leisk was unable to contest the 1985 titles at his home track in Noble Falls (WA) after injuring his back at the Motocross des Nations just weeks earlier.

Where Dack would go onto win four Mr. MX titles in a row between 1987 and 1990, he missed out on the chance to create history and win five when the 1989 series was disappointingly cancelled.

Marmont’s four victories in a row between 2008 and 2011 in the Australian MX Championship were as impressive as Dack’s Mr. MX wins, as the National series was now also run over multiple rounds across Australia

Click on the 250 and MX1 Champions posters above to view the Top 10 racers  in these classes the history of the sport, as well as other Homegrown Heroes statistics.  Top Photo – Motocross legends Stephen Gall and Craig Dack congratulate Jay Marmont on his third National MX1 title in 2010.

Marmont wins four titles in a row to match Gall's Australian Championship record

Yamaha – Marmont clinches four Australian MX1 titles in a row at Coolum (NSW) in 2011

Marmont was almost unbeatable during this period, although his first win in 2008 was made easier with 2006 and 2007 champion Dan Reardon leaving to race in the USA that year.

Things also fell Marmont’s way in 2011, where he managed to capture his a spectacular fourth straight MX1 Championship win in the season finale at the Coolum Pines Motocross Park on the Sunshine Coast.

The CDR Yamaha team rider had to overcame an 18-point deficit to edge out his teammate Josh Coppins for the overall victory, which he did after his Kiwi rival suffered a dislocated shoulder in moto three and was forced out of action.

Looking to the future, it’s not looking likely that Gall and Marmont’s record of four National titles in a row will ever be beaten, particularly when our top riders move overseas to compete internationally.

But you never know! Marmont managed to overcome the odds after the Australian Championships moved from a one-day event to a series and he returned from America!

Stephen Gall Fremantle Supercross
Jay Marmont - Four times MX1 Champion

Photos: Stephen Gall (top) and Jay Marmont (bottom)

Gall's 250cc Australian Championships
1980 to 1983

Australian Champion (Yamaha, Dargle – NSW)

Australian Champion (Yamaha, Symmons Plains – TAS)

Australian Champion (Yamaha, Toowoomba – NSW)

Australian Champion (Yamaha, Acusa Park – SA)



Marmont's MX1 Australian Championships
2004 to 2011

Australian Champion (Yamaha, National Series)

Australian Champion (Yamaha, National Series)

Australian Champion (Yamaha, National Series)

Australian Champion (Yamaha, National Series)

Stay connected through social media

Mr Motocross
Legends and Stars

Mr Motocross Legends and Stars

Australian Motocross History

AMXHistory - Facebook Homepage

Old Stars WA
Motocross Group

Old Stars WA Motocross Group

Australian Sidecarcross Association

AMX Social Media Group - Australian Sidecarcross Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Australian Motocross History