Motocross Champion Stephen Gall

Motocross Champion Stephen Gall

Australian Motocross Champion Stephen Gall

1981 Australian Motocross Championships Tasmania - 250cc Stephen Gall
Three Australian Motocross greats - Dack, Gall and Williams
Stephen Gall made it three Australian 250cc titles in a row at Toowoomba in Queensland in 1983

Photos: [Top] Stephen Gall (NSW) on his way to back-to-back 250cc National titles at Symmons Plains (TAS) on 23 August 1981 (Photo: By Ivan Fisher) [Bottom right] Gall made it three 250cc titles in a row at Toowoomba (QLD), in his first ride after breaking his wrist. [Top right]  Craig Dack, Gall and Trevor Williams.

Gall - Australia's greatest ever 250cc racer

Based on the top three overall results in each class at the Australian Championships between 1953 and 2000, New South Wales rider Stephen Gall is Australia’s most successful 250cc racer.

Gall, who raced Yamahas throughout his entire career, finished on top on 15 points – by just one point ahead of Craig Dack. Both riders finished on the winners podium six times in this class, with Gall having one more first placing and Dack one more second.

Other Australian motocross champions who round out the Top 10 were: Kim Ashkenazi (NSW) third, Lee Hogan (VIC) fourth , Glen Bell (NSW) and Craig Anderson (VIC) equal fifth, and Jeff Leisk (WA), Gary Flood (VIC), Andrew McFarlane (VIC), and David Basham (SA) equal seventh.

Throughout his career, Gall won four successive Australian 250cc Motocross Championships – the most of any rider – winning his 250 titles between 1980 to 1983.

Two other NSW riders won three 250cc titles each – Dack (1987, 1990-91) and Kim Ashkenazi (1992, 1994-95).

During the 1970s to 1980s Gall also won the prestigious Mr Motocross series four times – in 1978, 1980-82), as did Craig Dack.

Both his and Dack’s dominance on Yamaha machines during the 1970s-1990s helped Yamaha win the most 250cc Manufacturer’s Championships on 10 wins – a clear winner over Suzuki and Honda with five wins a piece.

Gall's 250cc Achievements

Pictured here at  the 1980  Fremantle Supercross , Western Australia (By Peter Kitchingman)

Stephen Gall Fremantle Supercross

Australian 250cc Champion, Dargle (NSW)

Australian 250cc Champion, Symmons Plains  (TAS)

Australian 250cc Champion, Toowoomba, (QLD)

Australian 250cc Champion, Acusa Park (SA)

Stay connected through social media

Mr Motocross
Legends and Stars

Mr Motocross Legends and Stars

Australian Motocross History

AMXHistory - Facebook Homepage

Old Stars WA
Motocross Group

Old Stars WA Motocross Group

Australian Sidecarcross Association

AMX Social Media Group - Australian Sidecarcross Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Australian Motocross History