Motocross Champion Stephen Gall

Motocross Champion Stephen Gall

Gall wins the last Unlimited Australian title at Dargle

1980 was Stephen Gall’s breakout year!  After establishing himself as one of the country’s top motocross riders and winning the prestigious Mr. Motocross series in 1978, that year Gall won his second Mr. MX title and finally broke through to win his first National Title at Dargle (NSW) in his home State.

In fact, the Team Pepsi Yamaha rider won two titles that weekend on 20-21 September 1980 – both the 250cc and Unlimited Championships.

With archrival and close friend Anthony Gunter out with injury, Gall comfortably won the 250cc class ahead of Ron Dinsdale (VIC, Honda) and Michael Landman (VIC, Yamaha).

Then he picked up his second National title in as many days in the Unlimited class, ahead of Andrew Bailey (QLD, Yamaha) – the son of legend George Bailey – and Robert Woodward (WA, Suzuki).

As it turned out, this was the last time the Australian Unlimited Championship would be run.

The Unlimited class was held between 1953 to 1980, from the inaugural event at Korweinguboora – Daylesford (VIC) won by the famous Ken Rumble (VIC) on a Matchless, through to Gall’s victory at Dargle.

In the early days of scrambles, the class was called “All Powers” as it was open to all riders on any sized machinery. 

But towards the end, only riders on 500cc machines entered, so there became two Championship events for 500s with riders picking and choosing which event they would enter.

So due to this anomaly, the governing body Motorcycling Australia (previously Auto Cycle Council of Australia – ACCA) made the logical decision to just host the one event.

Stephen Gall Pepsi Yamaha

Photo:  Yamaha Pepsi team rider Stephen Gall (NSW) won both the Unlimited and 250cc National titles at Dargle in September 1980, the last time the Unlimited class was held.

Gall's Australian Championship Achievements

Stephen Gall four times Mr Motocross winner

Australian 250cc Motocross Champion (Yamaha, Dargle NSW)
Australian Unlimited Motocross Champion

Australian 250cc Motocross Champion (Yamaha, Symmons Plains, TAS)

Australian 250cc Motocross Champion (Yamaha, Toowoomba, QLD)

Australian 250cc Motocross Champion (Yamaha, Acusa Park, SA)

Photo:  Stephen Gall – In addition to his five Australian Motocross titles, Gall  also won the coverted Mr Motocross series four times.

Stay connected through social media

Mr Motocross
Legends and Stars

Mr Motocross Legends and Stars

Australian Motocross History

AMXHistory - Facebook Homepage

Old Stars WA
Motocross Group

Old Stars WA Motocross Group

Australian Sidecarcross Association

AMX Social Media Group - Australian Sidecarcross Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Australian Motocross History