Motocross Champions West and Burrows

Motocross Champions West and Burrows

Australian Motocross Champions West and Burrows

Burrows and West - Unlimited Motocross Champions

Photo: Three-times Australian Unlimited Motocross Champion Charlie West (WA, 1956, ’58-59) and 1965 Champion John Burrows (VIC) – the most successful riders in this class

West and Burrows tie for Australia’s greatest Unlimited motocross rider

Based on the top three overall results in the Unlimited Australian Motocross Championships between 1953 and 1980, Western Australian rider Charlie West and Victorian John Burrows are Australia’s most successful racers in this class.

Both riders finished equal on 9 points in the Unlimited Class, which was called “All Powers” in the early days, as it was open to all riders on any sized machinery.

West won three National Unlimited titles on B.S.A. machines, his first in 1956 at Moorebank (NSW) and back-to-back titles in 1958 and 1959 at Evansdale (TAS) and Royal Park (SA), respectively.

He could have possibly made it four titles in a row, but suffered a near fatal racing accident in 1957 racing solos and Claremont Speedway.
John Burrows was the 1965 Australian Unlimited Champion at Clarendon (SA) and finished on the winners podium in this class alone six times –between 1953 (the very first Championship at Korweinguboora – Daylesford, in Victoria) and 1956 at Christmas Hills, Yarra Glen, on home soil.

The other Australian Unlimited motocross champions who round out the Top 10 placings were Ray Fisher (Victoria, 1960s to ‘70s) and Graeme Smythe (1970s to ‘80s) who tied for third overall, on 7 points.

Visiting New Zealand rider Ivan Miller tied with Victorian Trevor Flood in sixth place on 6 points, with a host of riders finishing in equal seventh on 5 points – Anthony Gunter (NSW), Dave Basham (SA), Gary Adams (VIC), Gary Flood (VIC), John Mapperson (VIC), Ken Rumble (VIC) and Matt Daley (NSW).

Charlie West at Herne Hill in WA

West's Unlimited Achievements

Australian Unlimited Motocross Champion (BSA, Moorebank, NSW)

Australian Unlimited Motocross Champion (BSA, Launceston, TAS)

Australian Unlimited Motocross Champion (BSA, Adelaide, SA)

John Burrows

1963 Australian Runner-up 250cc Champion John Burrows on a Cotton

3rd Australian Motocross Championship (A.J.S, Korweinguboora – Daylesford, VIC)

2nd Australian Motocross Championship (A.J.S, Evansdale, TAS)

3rd Australian Motocross Championship (Tribsa, Archerfield, QLD))

3rd Australian Motocross Championship (B.S.A, Devonport, TAS)

Australian Motocross Champion (B.S.A, Clarendon, SA)

3rd Australian Motocross Championship (B/S Special Christmas Hills, VIC)


Stay connected through social media

Mr Motocross
Legends and Stars

Mr Motocross Legends and Stars

Australian Motocross History

AMXHistory - Facebook Homepage

Old Stars WA
Motocross Group

Old Stars WA Motocross Group

Australian Sidecarcross Association

AMX Social Media Group - Australian Sidecarcross Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Australian Motocross History