Motocross des Nations 2017 Matterley Basin, UK

Motocross des Nations 2017 Matterley Basin, UK

AMXhistory Facebook Page
AMXhistory You Tube Channel
AMXhistory Vimeo Library,
featuring all videos on this site

Hunter Lawrence awarded best young rider at 2017 MXdN’s

2017 Motocross des Nations, world teams event - matterley basin, united kingdom (1-2 October)
2017 Australian Team at the Motocross des Nations Matterley Basin, UK - Kirk Gibbs, Hunter Lawrence and Dean Ferris

Photo:  The Aussie Team at the  2017 Motocross des Nations at Matterley Basin, UK  [L-R] –  Kirk Gibbs, Hunter Lawrence and Dean Ferris; [right] MXGPTV video


Hunter Lawrence leads Aussies to sixth, with France winning 5th MXDN

On 2 October 2017, Australia’s Hunter Lawrence shone in his debut at the 2017 Motocross des Nations (MXDN’s) on his Suzuki RM-Z250, putting in two great moto scores to win the MX2 class and get awarded the Ricky Carmichael Award for best young rider.

His overall victory in the MX2 class with 4-8 finishes against the other classes lifted Australia to sixth overall. Kirk Gibbs finished sixth overall in the Open Class on his KTM, and Dean Ferris finished ninth in the MXGP Class riding a Yamaha.

The 2017 Motocross des Nations was held at the Matterley Basin circuit, near Winchester, Great Britain. The event was originally meant to be held at Glen Helen Raceway in California, but had to be rescheduled due to concerns about crowd size. Coincidently, the same situation occurred previously in 2002 when the MXDN’s at Glen Helen Raceway was moved to Spain, prompting the USA to host its own event – The World Cup of Motocross – which Australia won.

After taking their fourth MXdN’s title in 2016, the French Team went into the event as the defending champions.

In tough, muddy conditions, Lawrence showed great speed against the bigger 450 machines, winning the starts and making great passes on more experienced riders. The conditions suited the Europeans with the usually dominant American Team struggling.


Click above to contribute results or content to the Australian Motocross History website, or email:

Australian Motocross History Logo - Low resolution

To receive FREE Australian Motocross Championship list updates, eNews and new video releases.

Subscribe Australian Motocross History Website News

Matterley Basin MXDN's race reports

2017 Australian Team at the Motocross des Nations UK - Hunter Lawrence, Kirk Gibbs and Dean Ferris

Moto 1 (MXGP / MX2) – Britain’s Anstie thrills the home crowd

In Moto 1, Great Britain’s Max Anstie got his home crowd on its feet by winning the holeshot then riding a great race to take home his first-ever MXdN’s moto victory ahead of Tom Gajser (Hon, Slovakia), Gautier Paulin (Hus, France) and Lawrence (the top MX2 racer in the moto).

Team USA’s Cole Seely (Hon) dropped out of the opening moto early on with a broken shock, while Great Britain’s Tommy Searle blew his KX250F engine around the same time.

The Australian Team during the rider’s parade at the start of the 2017 Motocross des Nations in the United Kingdom- Hunter Lawrence, Kirk Gibbs and Dean Ferris

Moto 2 (MX2 + Open) – Dutch World Champion Herlings wins, with Lawrence the first MX2 rider home

Three-times World MX2 World Champion at the time – Dutchman Jeffrey Herlings – who was riding in the Open class in England, won the holeshot in Moto 2 and battled with France’s Romain Febvre during the middle of the race.

Australia’s Kirk Gibbs rode brilliantly to be in third place early in the race ahead of Italy’s Alessandro Lupino (Hon) and France’s Christophe Charlier (Hus, MX2).

Herlings went on to win the moto by 13 seconds over Febvre, despite falling during the race, ahead of Osborne, Lupino, Gibbs, Charlier (First MX2 racer), Great Britain’s Dean Wilson and Australia’s Lawrence (second MX2 racer).

With 3-22 finishes in the moto for Team USA, the chance of a record-extending MXdN’s overall win for the Americans was dashed.

Race 3 (MXGP + Open) – Anstie wins his second moto to lead the British home team to third, behind The Netherlands and France
Anstie grabbed his second holeshot in the final moto of the day in front of France’s Febvre, Belgium’s Van Horebeek, the Netherlands’ Herlings, Switzerland’s Tonus and , France’s Paulin. USA rider Seely, who started near the front, ended up with a second DNF with a broken shock, with both American riders not finishing Moto 3.

Early in the race Anstie and Febvre battled for the lead, but were later joined by the Dutchman Herlings. The World Champion passed Febvre, but couldn’t quite get Anstie, who won the moto by about a second over the flying Dutchman who went 1-2.

Anstie’s 1-1 score on his home soil propelled Team Great Britain to the podium for the first time in over 20 years at the MXdN’s. Behind Herlings came Febvre, Van Horebeek, Gajser, Paulin, Cairoli, Wilson, Seewer, Tonus, Coldenhoff, Bobryshev, Strijbos and Leok.  Where Anstie was the top MXGP racer at the event, Herlings topped the Open Class with his 1-2 finishes leading the Dutch Team to second in the overall classifications.

Team France once again stood on top of the podium through consistent performances by all three riders. The five scores that counted for the French were a 2-3-3-6-6.

Hunter Lawrence’s overall win the MX2 class (4-8) helped Australia finish in sixth overall, sixth, with teammates Kirk Gibbs in the Open class placing 5-19 in his two races and our MXGP representative Dean Ferris finishing 22-23 against the bigger bikes – ninth overall in his class.

2017 MXDN's Team Placings and Race results - Matterley Basin (UK)

Nations Top 10

1. France (32 Points)
2. Netherlands (31)
3. Great Britain (32)
4. Belgium (53)
5. Switzerland (56)
6. Australia (58)
7. Italy (63)
8. Estonia (84)
9. USA (85)
10. Sweden (87)

MXGP Class Overall

1. Max Anstie (Hus, GB, 1-1)
2. Tim Gajser (Hon, Slovenia, 2-5)
3. Gautier Paulin (Hus, France, 3-6)
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (Yam, Bel, 7-4)
5. Arnaud Tonus (Yam, Switz., 5-10)
6. Antonio Cairoli (KTM, Italy, 11-7)
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (KTM, Ned, 8-11)
8. Dean Ferris (Yam, Australia, 22-23)
9. Priit Ratsep (Hon, Estonia, 13-36)
10. Cole Seely (Hon, USA, 38-33)

MX2 Class Overall

1. Hunter Lawrence (Suz, Aust, 4-8)
2. Zach Osborne (Hus, USA, 10-3)
3. Thomas Kjer Olsen (Hus, Den, 9-10)
4. Christophe Charlier (Hus, Fra, 14-6)
5. Brian Bogers (KTM, Ned, 12-9)
6. Valentin Guillod (Hon, Swi, 18-18)
7. Brent Van Doninck (Yam, Bel, 17-24)
8. Harri Kullas (Hus, Estonia, 20-26)
9. Michele Cervellin (Hon, Italy, 27-23)
10. Tommy Searle (Kaw, GB, 37-15)

Open Class Overall

1. Jeffrey Herlings (KTM, Ned, 1-2)
2. Romain Febvre (Yam, France, 2-3)
3. Dean Wilson (Hus, Great Britain, 7-8)
4. Alessandro Lupino (Hon, Italy, 4-18)
5. Jeremy Seewer (Suz, Swi, 14-9)
6. Kirk Gibbs (KTM, Australia, 5-19)
7. Kevin Strijbos (Suz, Belgium, 12-13)
8. Tanel Leok (Hus, Estonia, 11-14)
9. Thomas Covington (Hus, USA, 22-17)
10. Tyler Medaglia (Hon, Can, 16-21)

Stay connected through social media

Mr Motocross
Legends and Stars

Mr Motocross Legends and Stars

Australian Motocross History

AMXHistory - Facebook Homepage

Old Stars WA
Motocross Group

Old Stars WA Motocross Group

Australian Sidecarcross Association

AMX Social Media Group - Australian Sidecarcross Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Australian Motocross History