Mister Motocross Series 1986

Mister Motocross Series 1986

AMXhistory Facebook Page
AMXhistory You Tube Channel
AMXhistory Vimeo Library,
featuring all videos on this site

1986 Mister Motocross series - Dack vs Bell battle

1986 MISTER MOTCROSS SERIES - Oran Park (NSW), Broadford (VIC), Gillman (SA), Toowoomba (QLD), Oran Park (NSW)
1986 Craig Dack celebrates his victory in the final round of Mr Motocross at Oran Park
1986 Craig Dack - Mr MX Champion on a Honda
Glen Bell winner of six Australian 125cc Motocross titles

Photos: [Left and Centre] NSW rider Craig Dack’s move from Yamaha to Honda  in 1986 paid off, winning the Mister Motocross and Australian 500cc title that year, celebrating his first Mr. MX title in the final at Oran Park; and [right] Team Marlborough Yamaha rider Glen Bell,  Dack’s main challenger in Mr. MX.

Dack switches to Honda and wins his first Mister Motocross

With two-times and reigning Mister Motocross (Mr. MX) Jeff Leisk departing for the United States at the end of the 1985, Honda quickly signed up Craig Dack from New South Wales to ride for them for the 1986 motocross season.

From the opening round at Oran Park on Sunday, 20 April 1986, it was clear that Dack (Honda, Brian Collins Motocross) was fitting in well at Honda Australia and had adjusted to his new Honda CR250 bike, after switching from the Toshiba Yamaha Dealership Team.

Dack won three motos on the day on his 500cc CR Honda and finished third after a bad start in another, getting off to a great start ahead of his archrivals Glen Bell (Marlborough Yamaha) and Vaughan Style (Honda, Brian Collins Motocross).

With Leisk gone, the predicted Dack vs Bell battle became a reality, with both riders winning various rounds of the 1986 series.

Rounds 2 and 3 – Broadford (VIC) and Gillman (SA)
Glen Bell overtook Dack for the overall Mr. MX series lead after winning round 2 at Broadford in Victoria on 18 May. Following torrential rain, the circuit was a quagmire and Bell adapted the best to the conditions scoring 48 points with Dack only able to manage a measly 11 points.

Heading into round 3 at Gillman in South Australia, the new series leader Bell was on 90 points with Dack now relegated to second on 66 points.

But with better weather conditions at Gillman on 15 June, Dack managed to turn the tables on Bell. He made it a clean sweep on the day winning all four motos – scoring a maximum 60 points on the day – elevating him into joint leadership with Bell, on 126 points.


Click above to contribute results or content to the Australian Motocross History website, or email:

Australian Motocross History Logo - Low resolution

To receive FREE Australian Motocross Championship list updates, eNews and new video releases.

Subscribe Australian Motocross History Website News

Armstrong wins in the mud at Toowoomba (QLD)

Round 4 at Toowoomba in Queensland was another wet round, so after Bell’s earlier performance at the muddy Broadford circuit, he was tipped to take the series lead with one round remaining.

But local rider David Armstrong was the surprise overall winner in the mud at Toowoomba in Queensland to take valuable points off his his Honda team mate Craig Dack in the race for the Nation’s most prestigious motocross series.  The Queenslander was the most consistent rider in another wet round, winning the third and fourth motos after finishing third in the opening two – a clear winner on 50 points.

Craig Dack was leading the series leader after three rounds, but had to settle for second at Toowoomba with three second placings and a DNF in the third moto (36pts).

This time it was Bell’s turn to have a disastrous day and with Dack again on top of the leaderboard, this put the Honda rider in the box seat heading into the final round at Oran Park (NSW) on 17 August 1986.  Bell only managed to finish in seventh overall, scoring just15 points on the day, with a sixth in the final his best placing. 

American expatriate Jim Ellis finished in third. He won the opening moto on his KTM, was fourth in Moto 2, but DNF’d the third moto (27 pts).

1986 Craig Dack leads David Armstrong (insert) in the mud - Round 4 Mr MX Toowoomba (Main picture by Steven Chesters and insert by Peter Kitchingman)

Photo: 1986 Mr. MX series leader Craig Dack leads Honda teammate David Armstrong in the mud in Round 4 at Toowoomba in Queensland (Main photo by Steven Chesters and insert by Peter Kitchingman)

Dack poised to win his first Mr. MX at Oran Park

1986 Final Mr. MX round at Oran Park (NSW) on 17 August 1986 | Don God Video

1986 Honda Poster - Dack and Armstrong 1-2 in Mr Motocross

Heading into the final round at Oran Park (NSW) on 17 August 1986, Craig Dack was now poised to win his first Mr. MX title. him.

Yamaha rider Glen Bell, 21 points behind Dack, was the only rider within reach to wrestle the series from him and end Honda’s reign.  

But Bell appeared nervous and got off to a disastrous start at Oran Park, crashing and failing to score any points in the first two motos – leaving Dack to claim the title.

Winning moto 1 and finishing third in moto 2 gave Dack the points buffer he needed to win his first Mr. MX title and join the other series champions – Trevor Flood, Gary Flood, Anthony Gunter, Stephen Gall, Ray Vandenberg and Jeff Leisk.

That day marked the beginning of the “Dack Attack” era and the end of Stephen Gall’s long illustrious career as the Yamaha rider announced his retirement from serious motocross.

Honda scored a 1-2 for the series when its No.2 rider, David Armstrong, had a great day at the last round, pipping Glen Bell on points. 

KTM mounted Jim Ellis also slipped past Bell to drop him to fourth in the series with Vaughan Style (NSW, Honda) finishing in fifth.

Poster: Honda Team mates Craig Dack (NSW) and David Armstrong (QLD) finish 1-2 in the 1986 Mr. MX series – Honda’s third title in a row, with Jeff Leisk winning back-to-back in 1984-85.

1986 Mister Motocross Photo gallery

1986 Mr Motocross Poster
1986 Mr Motocross at Broadford - Jim Ellis USA, KTM - By Lou Martin
1986 Mr Motocross Craig Dack Honda

[Left to right] 1986 Mister Motocross poster; Jim Ellis (USA) at Broadford switched to KTM in 1986 and finished third in the National series (By Lou Martin); and Honda NSW rider Vaughan Style finished fifth in the series.

1986 Craig Dack wins his first Mr Motocross title at Oran Park, ahead of David Armstrong and Jim Ellis
1986 Dack wins first Mr Motocross title at Amaroo Park

Let the celebrations begin [Left. L-R] Dack receives his 1986 Mr. MX trophy at Oran Park on 17 August, with Jimmy Ellis (3rd), David Armstrong (2nd) ; and [right] Dack hoists the trophy high.

1986 Mister Motocross Final Overall Points

Photo: Dack won both the 1986 Mr. MX series and Australian 500cc Championship on a Honda

1987 Australian 250 and 500cc Motocross Champion Craig Dack

1. Craig Dack (NSW, Honda, 214 points)
2. David Armstrong (QLD, Honda, 152)
3. Jim Ellis (USA, KTM, 151)
4, Glen Bell (NSW, Yamaha, 149)
5. Vaughan Style (NSW, Honda, 124)

Stay connected through social media

Mr Motocross
Legends and Stars

Mr Motocross Legends and Stars

Australian Motocross History

AMXHistory - Facebook Homepage

Old Stars WA
Motocross Group

Old Stars WA Motocross Group

Australian Sidecarcross Association

AMX Social Media Group - Australian Sidecarcross Association

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Australian Motocross History